The Guy In The Green Vest

Not long after I posted some of my favorite images from Super Bowl week on this blog, I received an email from Paul Gessler from Fox 45. He was interested in doing a segment with me about my story as one of the team photographers for the Ravens and our journey to the Super Bowl.

I was pretty shocked that there was even that much interest in what I do and at first I was a little hesitant to sit down on the opposite side of the camera and spill my guts.

However, I agreed and Paul and his cameraman Jed came to my studio to do a sit down interview. We talked for quite a while and I went through some of my favorite images from the post season including the Super Bowl and provided the stories behind how I made them.

The segment aired last night and I thought they did a great job. Im always still amazed at how much content gets edited out to make a 2 minute video segment. It is definitely a little weird to see myself talking on TV, but at least I didn’t embarrass myself…I think.

The end is pretty hilarious, its the clip of the “Harbaugh handshake” from the Super Bowl. You can see me getting mugged by all the photographers around me. I am still amazed that I made even one usable frame during that moment.

Anyway, I also wanted to mention that in addition to myself, the Ravens do have another team photographer who has actually been around a lot longer than me. Phil Hoffmann has been the Ravens team photographer since 1996 and has shown me the ropes since I’ve been with the team. Phil is a big reason that I am able to take risks and be more creative on gamedays since I know he is going to be there to get the shot that I may miss.

Secondly, in the beginning of this video you’ll see a still photo of me shooting in my (fashionable) green vest. That photo was taken by super talented local photographer Patrick Smith, definitely check out his work too. Its inspiring.

Lastly thanks to Paul and Jed for being super cool and making this happen…enjoy!

play

2 responses

  1. Kristin Crafton

    Shawn, let me first tell you that I think your photos are amazing! I love them all. I’m trying to locate a picture of Lewis and Suggs hugging at the end of the Super Bowl (it was one of the first shots on TV after the game ended; a pretty emotional and wonderful shot). Do you know where I could locate a copy of this picture?

    February 14, 2013 at 9:55 am

    • Actually I don’t. I barely even saw Suggs right after the game, so I wasn’t able to take that picture.

      February 14, 2013 at 10:25 am

Leave a Reply

