A Super Week in the Big Easy

If I sat here and tried to write about all the amazing, emotional, crazy, funny, scary and intense moments I experienced during Super Bowl week I’d never get around to actually posting any pictures and I’d bore you all to death because I am a terrible writer. So, I’ll spare you all the details…

What I will say is that it has been such an honor to follow this team this season through all the highs and lows and everything in between.

I had the opportunity to photograph my first Super Bowl and the team that I work for won…that feels as good as it sounds.

Throughout the week, not everything went as planned and that certainly carried over to the game. As a photographer you are 10% picture taker and 90% problem solver. At the end of the day you do the best you can with the situation you are in and with any luck you make a few nice frames and if you are even luckier you actually enjoy yourself while you are doing it.

Looking back on this experience, I feel pretty darn lucky. I am still trying to convince myself that its impossible to capture every moment or every play. That doesn’t mean that I won’t try every single time.

There is really no other way to sum up the week leading up to the Super Bowl, the game itself and the parade that followed other than to just show you the pictures. Enjoy…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

23 responses

  1. Anonymous

    Fantastic shots, Shawn! What an amazing adventure you’ve experienced this past year! Amazing.

    February 11, 2013 at 7:41 pm

  2. Wow, Shawn! What an amazing adventure you’ve been on this year. Fantastic pics, as always. Thanks for sharing your incredible perspective!

    February 11, 2013 at 7:43 pm

  3. PHENOM images. uber jealous over here 😉

    February 11, 2013 at 7:48 pm

  4. Shawn….as a fellow photog and one that has covered more than 2 dozen Super Bowls. The job you did my man was…..well…..I can’t find a single word……but if I must……BLESSED! God has blessed you with an amazing eye and talent. You have given us some truly amazing images. Keep working hard and GREAT things are coming your way!

    February 11, 2013 at 7:52 pm

  5. These pictures are amazing!!!!!!!! Thanks

    February 11, 2013 at 7:53 pm

  6. Beth

    Absolutely BEAUTIFUL pictures Shawn!!!!!!!! Thank you so much for sharing!!!

    February 11, 2013 at 8:07 pm

  7. Phajew

    You never fail to amaze me with your shots. You’re a huge inspiration – thank you.

    February 11, 2013 at 9:48 pm

  8. Kris

    I’ve been waiting for these! You deserve the Lombardi of Photography! Your pictures not only make me feel like I was there but that I personally know these gentlemen. Thank you! Amazing!

    February 11, 2013 at 10:38 pm

  9. TOTALLY AMAZING… I felt every moment.. I shared your link so other could feel your incredible images of this awesome journey!!!

    February 12, 2013 at 12:08 am

  10. Awesome work as always. Quite a fun few days.

    February 12, 2013 at 12:26 am

  11. Great work as usual.You brought the story to life and allowed us to see it through your eyes!!..You have become a historian to our minds for this amazing Superbowl ride.well done

    February 12, 2013 at 2:46 am

  12. Love these! Thank you so much for being there to capture the behind the scenes!! They are my favorite and I am sure the team is definitely appreciating them too! Well done!

    February 12, 2013 at 7:42 am

  13. Carri

    You are a very lucky man Mr. Hubbard. I loved every picture! Excellent. Thank you for sharing

    February 12, 2013 at 10:17 am

  14. Jen

    Wonderful. Thank you for your contributions to documenting a tremendous accomplishment. As a hobby-photographer, I appreciate your use of reflections, your angles and varied vantage points. I had tears in my eyes by the end. Great job and thank you for sharing.

    February 12, 2013 at 11:07 am

  15. These ROCK Shawn! Great job.

    February 13, 2013 at 9:53 pm

  16. Thanks everyone for all the love. It has been an amazing year and I am completely flattered that you have been following me and checking out my images every week. I was actually interviewed by FOX 45 today and give some behind the scenes insight on some of my favorite images from the post season. It will air tonight around 10:45-10:50pm. Tune in!

    February 13, 2013 at 10:04 pm

  17. Pingback: The Guy In The Green Vest « shawn hubbard's blog

  18. Whats up brother?! What an awesome opportunity and experience for you. Dream job, huh? Amazing pictures. Schishler has been telling me for a while how awesome your pictures are and I’m glad I’ve finally got to see them. Keep up the great work and hit me up if you ever come out to LA!

    February 16, 2013 at 3:46 pm

  19. Hello are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own.
    Do you require any coding knowledge to make your own blog?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

    May 1, 2013 at 7:44 am

  20. Social

    Just wish to say your article is as astounding. The clarity in your submit is simply spectacular and i can think you are
    knowledgeable on this subject. Fine together with your permission let me to clutch your feed to stay updated with drawing close post.
    Thank you a million and please carry on the enjoyable work.

    July 27, 2013 at 2:57 pm

  21. I do not know if it’s just me or if everyone else experiencing issues with your blog. It looks like some of the text in your posts are running off the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them as well? This may be a problem with my web browser because I’ve
    had this happen before. Thanks

    August 2, 2013 at 2:00 pm

  22. Pingback: Super Bowl XLIX : My Take | shawn hubbard's blog

Leave a Reply

