Ray. Leaving. A Legacy.

I don’t get nervous before shooting games. At least I didn’t until Sunday…

With Ray Lewis announcing his pending retirement last week, the stress of figuring out how I was going to cover his last game at M&T Bank stadium was overwhelming.

“Ray’s Last Dance” was the prominent headline throughout the week and the anticipation of Ray coming out of the tunnel and doing “the squirrel” for the last time almost outweighed the game itself.

I have shot Ray countless times coming out of the tunnel from many different perspectives…The last thing I wanted to do was to shoot an image that could be mistaken for just another game. Knowing I had many images of Ray from a forward or side perspective I immediately knew I wanted to shoot him from behind. I had done this once before, but never from INSIDE the tunnel.

The image was already burned into my brain…Ray IN the tunnel walking out to the field through the smoke. It spoke loudly to me about the finality of this event.

I shot in the tunnel and also placed a remote camera on the top of the “Ravens eyes”, an idea that I have had for the longest time, but never put into action. Glad I saved it until now.

Looking back you always think how you could have done things differently. I would have changed a few things, but the most important part is that I was able to capture the essence of this day for Ray and for the Ravens.

I feel extremely fortunate to have had the opportunity over the last 6 years to document many moments in Ravens history and to work up close and personal with a player whose combination of faith, passion and ability will never be duplicated.

Ray may be leaving, but his legacy will always remain in Baltimore.

Enjoy.

Ravens-Hubbard-01 Ravens-Hubbard-02 Ravens-Hubbard-03 Ravens-Hubbard-04 Ravens-Hubbard-05 Ravens-Hubbard-06 Ravens-Hubbard-07 Ravens-Hubbard-08 Ravens-Hubbard-09 Ravens-Hubbard-10 Ravens-Hubbard-11 Ravens-Hubbard-12 Ravens-Hubbard-13 Ravens-Hubbard-14 Ravens-Hubbard-15 Ravens-Hubbard-16 Ravens-Hubbard-17 Ravens-Hubbard-18 Ravens-Hubbard-19 Ravens-Hubbard-20 Ravens-Hubbard-21 Ravens-Hubbard-23 Ravens-Hubbard-24 Ravens-Hubbard-25 Ravens-Hubbard-26 Ravens-Hubbard-27 Ravens-Hubbard-28 Ravens-Hubbard-29 Ravens-Hubbard-30 Ravens-Hubbard-31 Ravens-Hubbard-32 Ravens-Hubbard-33 Ravens-Hubbard-34 Ravens-Hubbard-35 Ravens-Hubbard-36 Ravens-Hubbard-37 Ravens-Hubbard-38

22 responses

  1. M Dot

    Always exceptional work!!

    January 8, 2013 at 12:18 pm

  2. Tony Martin

    That picture of Ray about to walk through the wall of smoke is amazing!!!

    January 8, 2013 at 12:27 pm

  3. Kristi B

    This is absolutely beautiful. Goose bumps. Thank you

    January 8, 2013 at 12:30 pm

  4. Patrice

    Ray leaving the tunnel brings me to tears- your photos are amazing, thank you

    January 8, 2013 at 1:41 pm

  5. Marci

    Thank you for sharing your amazing work!

    January 8, 2013 at 2:42 pm

  6. Todd

    By far you are one of the best sports photographers around.

    January 8, 2013 at 3:01 pm

  7. Tori

    These pictures captured something that only Raven fans can truly, truly appreciate! Moments us fans of the team and Uncle Ray himself! Thank you!!! You’ve done an amazing job!!!!!

    January 8, 2013 at 3:33 pm

    • Anonymous

      Iconic and amazing! Thank you and bless your wonderful talent!

      January 8, 2013 at 5:33 pm

  8. Thank You everyone! Thanks for taking the time to check out the images. I’m glad you enjoyed them. It was an amazing experience. One I will never forget.

    January 8, 2013 at 6:10 pm

  9. Rossina

    Great photos! Thanks for sharing. How can I get a print?

    January 8, 2013 at 7:28 pm

  10. these photos are A-W-E-S-O-M-E!!! love them all, especially the one of ray about to walk through the smoke, and the one of Q catching that touchdown with Zbikowski looking on in a colts uniform. love.

    January 8, 2013 at 7:56 pm

  11. April

    Amazing pictures. You managed to capture the emotion of that day in these pictures. Great work!!!!!!

    January 8, 2013 at 10:11 pm

  12. Great work Shawn!

    January 9, 2013 at 9:43 am

  13. Awesome photos – every last one was a beautiful memory. I thank your aunt for sharing with me.

    January 9, 2013 at 2:59 pm

  14. I’m tearing up looking at this picture: https://shawnhubbard.files.wordpress.com/2013/01/ravens-hubbard-06.jpg?w=590 Do you sell your prints? I’d love to be able to add a picture or two to my Ravens wall out here in Denver, and I know other friends would love to do the same.

    January 10, 2013 at 1:32 pm

  15. Lindsay

    I second the above comment. Do you sell prints?

    January 11, 2013 at 11:55 am

  16. sherrie

    Wow I got tears in my eyes looking at these pictures. Great job! We Love Ray!

    January 11, 2013 at 4:06 pm

  17. Thanks everyone! So glad you all enjoyed my images. It was a very emotional day, and I hope I captured some of that. For those asking about purchasing prints, here is a link to the Ravens photo store. Many of my images are available to buy there. http://www.replayphotos.com/baltimoreravensphotostore/2012-playoffs-pictures/_12PO___0001048.cfm

    January 15, 2013 at 8:42 am

  18. Anonymous

    Totally awesome pictures! He will truly be missed by all of us! Going to the Super Bowl this time!! Lovin my RAVENS! Great job!

    January 15, 2013 at 6:39 pm

  19. Anonymous

    Wow!! Pictures worth a thousand words. Bleed purple!!

    January 15, 2013 at 9:57 pm

  20. Anonymous

    Great Job! You’ve really captured the moment in these pictures, moments we’ll never forget as Ravens fans. No one outside of this community will ever be able to truely grasp what a Ray Lewis means, and as frustrating as it is when outsiders cast shallow judgement it also makes it all the more beautiful. Beautiful becasuse this bond is OURS, this emotion is OURS, it’s OURS through and through. There’s nothing outside of us that can take it away or diminish its value.

    We will never seen another man like Ray Lewis don a Ravens uniform or on the football field, period. However, photographs such as these provide lasting memories for us all. Memories that will lead to endless stories about Baltimore and their great Ray Lewis. I just want to say thank you!

    January 17, 2013 at 7:59 am

  21. excellent work Shawn…brings back memories of when I worked for the Baltimore Colts…and shot the likes of Johnny Unitas, Raymond
    Berry….you too will carry these fine, superb memories throughout your life…and the images will bear witness to your talents…and the great subjects you shot….cheers…all around

    January 17, 2013 at 10:20 pm

Leave a Reply

