Chasing the “Perfect Image”

When I set out to shoot a game I have one very specific personal goal…make an amazing image of every play…simple right? Although I have yet to achieve this goal during a game, if I don’t strive for perfection I’ll never get better.

The “perfect image”, in my opinion, is one that technically and artistically captures the peak moment of a critical play. It’s sharp, well composed, unobstructed by other players or refs, and visibly shows players’ faces in front of a clean background. Is that too much to ask?  Unfortunately, the scenario of a football game is engineered to defy all of these criteria.

Sometimes I “capture” a big play, but I don’t necessarily make a great image and sometimes I make a successful image of a situation that ultimately has no significance to the outcome of the game. Both have their use. I am documenting Ravens history, so its important to keep record of important moments even if they aren’t the “best” images. Its also important to me personally to make “good “images even if they capture moments that don’t necessarily change the outcome of a game. When you can make a great image of a big play its special.

Needless to say, I don’t think I was able to make anything very special on Monday night. From my position, many of the big plays were either obstructed or the players involved were simply just not facing my direction. The good thing is that I’ll get another chance this week and I’ll never stop chasing the “perfect image.”

7 responses

  1. I see a lot of perfect images here, Shawn. Seriously.

    September 12, 2012 at 3:40 pm

  2. ravensfanjen

    definitely love your pics…especially the one of number 23, Chykie Brown, the muscle definition in his biceps..amazing…and you captured that aspect and that’s what i focused on looking at the pic!

    September 12, 2012 at 4:14 pm

  3. Nakea

    Again I say Shawn is a beast

    September 13, 2012 at 10:00 pm

  4. #13 and #17 are my favorites but they are all awesome!

    September 17, 2012 at 10:20 am

Leave a Reply

