When the Snowing Gets Tough…

Just hours before the kickoff of the Ravens-Vikings game, the forecast was “flurries/light snow with accumulation less than one inch.” No big deal…right?

WRONG! Shortly after player introductions I realized that we were experiencing a much more significant weather event. With near whiteout conditions , my camera struggled and searched to find focus amidst the densely falling snowflakes.

Even if the camera locked focus it was extremely difficult to even see what I was shooting. When shooting at 400mm there are A LOT of snowflakes in between you and your subject.

But, I knew I still had to make pictures, so I didn’t panic and just kept fighting through it. My perseverance paid off.

Despite the snow complicating things like focus, changing media cards and just generally seeing what the heck is going on…it makes the pictures look awesome.

I often find that challenges during a shoot make me concentrate even more on what I am doing, and thats a good thing.

Besides the weather, this was one of the craziest games I have ever seen. There were five lead changes in the last two minutes of the game, with the Ravens eventually ending up on top thanks to a touchdown pass with 4 seconds left.

I’m sure I’ll look back on this game as one of the most memorable of my career.

Here is my take…

RavensVikings01 RavensVikings02 RavensVikings03 RavensVikings04 RavensVikings05 RavensVikings06 RavensVikings07 RavensVikings08 RavensVikings09 RavensVikings10 RavensVikings11 RavensVikings12 RavensVikings13 RavensVikings14 RavensVikings15 RavensVikings16 RavensVikings17 RavensVikings18 RavensVikings19 RavensVikings20 RavensVikings21 RavensVikings22 RavensVikings23

10 responses

  1. Anonymous

    I always enjoy your photos, but these may be some of my favorite! Beautiful work!

    December 16, 2013 at 2:42 pm

  2. Morgan

    These photos are magic.

    December 16, 2013 at 5:57 pm

  3. Alison

    These are some of my favorites! The snow is magical!

    December 17, 2013 at 9:26 am

  4. Anthony

    Shawn do you sell your pictures like maybe an 11×14 or a 16×20 size? Or a digital copy I would love a few for the man cave!!

    December 17, 2013 at 6:26 pm

  5. vudean

    Great shots! My fav is Suggs looking down the line.
    You also got a great one of Marlon Brown’s TD… Pretty much proof he had control and both feet in! You ever want to go show the refs one of your shots during a replay review to prove what happened? I bet you have some better angles that the TV cameras.

    December 18, 2013 at 3:02 pm

    • Its tempting sometimes, but I never would because it wouldn’t change anything

      December 19, 2013 at 8:43 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 187 other followers